Members Panel
Go Back   Mapfiend > Everquest > EQ Maps
 

EQ Maps Discussion about Everquest maps

Reply
Old 09-14-2010, 04:06 PM   #21
Zalewski
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1
Zalewski is on a distinguished road
Default

In the Mapfiend download all file, there are Many map files that are zero or 1kb. If their file is empty, they should Not have the file name used in case the player Does have content. Then if they Do end up acquiring a usable map THEN add it to the download file, until then do Not use that file name.
Zalewski is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 04-19-2011, 03:25 PM   #22
Lamgari27
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1
Lamgari27 is on a distinguished road
Default i'm trying just about anything with vista

i just deleted all the maps that come with eq in the maps folder then replaced them with the ones i downloaded and extracted from mapfiend. i will update this post to let everyone know if it worked.
Lamgari27 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 05-09-2011, 02:06 PM   #23
krazyfukr
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1
krazyfukr is on a distinguished road
Default They Work

To get the maps to work, you must not be logged in to everquest when you copy the maps into the maps folder.

Close everquest completely, copy maps, restart everquest.

Works.
krazyfukr is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 10-14-2011, 02:35 PM   #24
Beggly
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2
Beggly is on a distinguished road
Default Problems with Maps... sigh

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaliaila View Post
Eidolon1, first SOE hasn't designed any of the supplied maps for the last 3 or so expansions. They were all made by players in Beta and SOE was allowed by them to supply them to the masses. SOE supposedly had to make maps the same way we do, just like they supposedly have to make UI windows just like we do with no way to instantly see what the result will be aside from loading up EQ. So really just be glad there are any maps with the new expansions at all.

Find the Everquest folder that you are playing EQ from. In that EQ folder there will be a maps folder. Put the TXT files into that maps folder.

Examples:

If you play from C:\Program Files\Everquest\
then put the TXT files into C:\Program Files\Everquest\maps

If you play from C:\Program Files\Sony\Everquest\



then put the TXT files into C:\Program Files\Sony\Everquest\maps

If you play from C:\Program Files\Sony\Everquest Trilogy\
then put the TXT files into C:\Program Files\Sony\Everquest Trilogy\maps

If you play from C:\Program Files\Sony\Everquest Gold\
then put the TXT files into C:\Program Files\Sony\Everquest Gold\maps

If you play from C:\Program Files\Sony\Everquest Platinum\
then put the TXT files into C:\Program Files\Sony\Everquest Platinum\maps

-----

I've been having preblems as well, but I am using EQ: Anniversary Edition... sigh....

Where should I put them?

-----
Beggly is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 12-06-2011, 05:54 PM   #25
Micrho
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1
Micrho is on a distinguished road
Default maps not working

Ok I have Vista and was having problems with the maps not showing up. I unziped them to C:\Program Files (x86)\Sony\EverQuest\maps and it did not work maps still did not show up. So I right clicked on the launcher and looked to see what the path was of the shortcut. It was "C:\Users\Public\Sony Online Entertainment\Installed Games\EverQuest\LaunchPad.exe". So I unziped the maps to "C:\Users\Public\Sony Online Entertainment\Installed Games\EverQuest\maps and maps now show up.

Last edited by Micrho; 12-06-2011 at 05:56 PM.. Reason: removed double space that should not have been there
Micrho is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 03-20-2012, 11:17 PM   #26
drygonfli
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3
drygonfli is on a distinguished road
Default same problem with Windows 7

I have extracted to both everquest and everquest Trilogy and still no Brightfire Moor maps. I run Windows 7 Will try the extract to seperate folder and then copy to folder and see if that works.

if not is a pain cause I do not have POK maps, Tranuility maps etc....
drygonfli is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 03-29-2012, 03:29 PM   #27
Gus
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1
Gus is on a distinguished road
Default

yep...same problem for me with Windows 7

i noticed there are 1,014 files in download all...none named Blightfire Moor but it is included in crescent_2.txt...

so i have the map...just won't load while i am in the game...what's up with that ?

Last edited by Gus; 03-29-2012 at 03:44 PM.. Reason: corrected mis-spelling
Gus is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 04-02-2012, 08:15 PM   #28
drygonfli
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3
drygonfli is on a distinguished road
Default

Well, I found the problem. The Free to play (and I am a gold member) everquest loads in c/ProgramData/SonyIntertainment/everquest/ or close to it and it use to be loaded in c/program files/sony/everquest or everquest Trilogy.

When I loaded into the second one, nothing happened. but when I found and went to the ProgramData string, I found the map file, deleted the old maps and loaded the new ones, All then worked.

I would never have found it if my friend Camina had not given me her link for where her program was loaded......

Thank you and I hope this helps everyone.
drygonfli is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 04-05-2012, 05:34 AM   #29
ericwinnlpn
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2
ericwinnlpn is on a distinguished road
Default

still did not work for me i have tried all the suggestions people have said on this site and i stgill cannot get them to work it appears the map files went to the right directory b ut the maps never show up in game. I know i'm not alone because im talking to multiple people in game having the same issue
ericwinnlpn is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 04-05-2012, 03:50 PM   #30
ericwinnlpn
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2
ericwinnlpn is on a distinguished road
Default I finally got it to work

ok here is what finally worked for me. I saw that there can be more than one place to get to everquest. To find my path i needed to use i right clicked on the shortcut for the eq patcher and then clicked properties. MY path was C:\Users\Public\Sony Online Entertainment\Installed Games\Everquest and then extracted downloaded maps to C:\Users\Public\Sony Online Entertainment\Installed Games\Everquest\maps
Then when i looked at the indiviual map files theres about a 1000 of them it seemed--i right clicked on each file and clicked on its properties. About 80% of them said this file may have been blocked because it came from another computer. There was a box to push to unblock it then I pushed apply then ok for each and every one of thos e individual files. When I logged back into eq i had maps. This was a windows 7 computer. There probably was an easier way to do this but I could not figure out how. I did not have eq running while I did this. If anyone wants me to tell them more about it feel free to look me up in game on tunare server Shamwin
ericwinnlpn is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
unzipping map issues Holm31 Archived EQ Info 5 06-01-2008 05:32 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:12 PM.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.